This article goes over frequently asked questions around how to remove / archive / delete classroom sections from your section list. If you do not know what sections are, check out this article.
NOTE: We strongly encourage you to not delete sections where students sign in with word or picture passwords. If you delete a section like this, students will no longer be able to access their accounts unless they created a personal login first. Read more about how students can create a personal login.
How can I archive or remove sections I no longer use from my sections list?
If you have a section that you no longer use, you can hide it by choosing the "Archive Section" option from the dropdown associated with the given section from your sections table.
Click the dropdown:
Choose "Archive Section":
This will remove the section from your main sections list and add it to your "Archived Sections" list.
Can I view and access my archived sections?
Yes, you can still view and access your archived sections. To do this, click on the button underneath your main sections list that says "View archived sections":
Note that this button will only appear if you have any archived sections. Clicking on this button will reveal all your archived sections.
You can hide your archived sections again by clicking on "Hide archived sections." The archived sections will also be hidden the next time you load the page, even if you do not click this button.
I accidentally archived a section. Can I add it back to my list again?
Yes. To do this, click on the "View archived sections" button below your main sections list. This should reveal all of your hidden sections. Click on the "restore Section" option from the dropdown menu in the right-most column to add the section back to your main sections list.
Can I move students out of archived sections?
Yes, but you must first unarchive the section. Follow the instructions above to unarchive the section first, then move students out of the section. Once you've finished moving the students, you can re-archive the section.
Can my students still sign into sections that are archived?
Yes, students will still be able to sign into a section even if it is archived. The main goal for archiving sections is to help reduce your list of sections to the set you want to focus on.
Why is it so hard to fully delete a section?
We discourage deleting sections for two reasons:
- If you use a word or picture password section, any student who hasn't created a personal login will no longer be able to access their account if the section were to be deleted.
- The only way we know that a student is part of a school is if they are in a teacher's section. If the student is no longer in a section (because they were removed from the section or the section were deleted), we would need to treat the account as one that is not managed by a teacher, thereby releasing the education records to the student. By keeping the sections as archived sections, you can keep the section out of view while still retaining the education records for the school.
Is there a way to fully delete a section?
You can only delete a section with 0 students. You can remove students from a section in one of two ways:
- Go inside the section you want to delete and click on the "Manage students" tab. From there, individually remove each student...OR
- Use the "Move students" feature to mass-move all of your students into another section.
If there are 0 students in your section, you should see a "Delete section" option in the dropdown menu in the right-most column:
Note: The option to remove students or move students does not exist for sections linked to Google Classroom or Clever. If you want to remove students from these sections, you will need to remove them from Google Classroom or Clever directly and sync using the sync button in the "Manage students" tab. Learn more about using Google Classroom and Clever here.