Can I assign work to my students via Google Classroom?

Follow

Yes! You can now ‘assign’ lessons to your students via Google Classroom without leaving Code.org.

This feature is available for all Code.org courses and will be visible to teachers as long as they have Google Classroom connected to their Code.org teacher account and have at least one Google Classroom section set up in Code.org (learn how to setup a Google Classroom section in Code.org).

Where do I find this?

To find this feature:

  1. Go to the unit or course overview page for the lesson you want to assign (example unit overview page and example course overview page)
  2. Select your Google Classroom section from the Current Section dropdown menu at the top of the pagemceclip0.png
  3. Find the lesson in the course or unit that you want to assign in Google Classroom and tap the “Share to Google Classroom” button on the right-hand side of the screen.mceclip4.png
  4. This will open a Google Classroom dialog with a link to the first level in the lesson. You can then add details for your class before posting it to your Google Classroom using the “Assign” button in the dialog.

How does it work?

This feature provides a link to the first level of the selected lesson to your Google Classroom so you can post it there for your students. It does not, however, update your classroom section’s assignment in Code.org (see next section).

Before posting to Google Classroom, you can…

  • Customize the instructional message your students see in Google Classroom and the title of the assignment. By default, the title of the assignment will be the name of the Lesson on Code.org.
  • Choose which of your Google Classroom sections and which students in that section will see the assignment in Google Classroom.
  • Update the points, due date, and topic associated with the assignment in Google Classroom

mceclip5.png

Does this update my classroom section’s assignment in Code.org?

No, this feature does not affect your classroom’s assignment on the Code.org website: it only posts a link to the first level in the lesson to your Google Classroom section in Google Classroom.

Currently, you can only assign units and courses to Code.org sections (not lessons). To learn more about course and unit assignment in Code.org see this article.

Does this keep my students from moving ahead automatically to the next lesson in Code.org?

No - once your students have finished all the levels in the lesson you posted in Google Classroom, they can continue working on the next lesson in Code.org. If you want to keep your students from working beyond the lesson you posted in Google Classroom, you can hide later lessons in the unit or course from your students by using the “Visible / Hidden” buttons next to the lesson (learn more).

Have more questions? Submit a request

Comments

Powered by Zendesk