How do I assign work to my students via Google Classroom?

Follow

NOTE: The entry point for this feature has changed and the link that is sent to Google Classroom will now prompt your students to sign in so they don't forget and lose their work. Read on to learn more!

 

You can ‘assign’ lessons to your students via Google Classroom without leaving Code.org. This feature is available for all Code.org courses and is available to all teachers (Learn how to setup a Google Classroom section in Code.org).

Where do I find this?

To find this feature:

  1. Go to the unit or course overview page for the lesson you want to assign (example unit overview page and example course overview page)
  2. Tap the the "Send to Students" button on the Lesson you want to assign in Google Classroom
    • Note: previously the Google Classroom button showed up here, but it is now behind the "Send to Students" buttonmceclip0.png
  3. This will open a dialog that will allow you to choose one of two ways of getting the lesson to your students:
    • Copying the link to the lesson to your clipboard so you can email it to your students directly (learn more)
    • Sharing the lesson via Google Classroommceclip1.png
  4. Choosing the "Share to Google Classroom" option will open Google Classroom's "Share to Classroom" dialog and provide it with a link to the first level in the lesson you selected. From that dialog, you can add details for your class before posting it to your Google Classroom using the “Assign” button in the dialog.mceclip2.png

How does it work?

This feature provides a link to the first level of the selected lesson to your Google Classroom so you can post it there for your students. It does not, however, update your classroom section’s assignment in Code.org (see next section). Students who click on this link will be prompted to sign in first (if they're not signed in already), even if the materials they're working on do not normally require them to sign in (learn more).

Before posting to Google Classroom, you can…

  • Customize the instructional message your students see in Google Classroom and the title of the assignment. By default, the title of the assignment will be the name of the Lesson on Code.org.
  • Choose which of your Google Classroom sections and which students in that section will see the assignment in Google Classroom.
  • Update the points, due date, and topic associated with the assignment in Google Classroom

mceclip5.png

Does this update my classroom section’s assignment in Code.org?

No, this feature does not affect your classroom’s assignment on the Code.org website: it only posts a link to the first level in the lesson to your Google Classroom section in Google Classroom.

Currently, you can only assign units and courses to Code.org sections (not lessons). To learn more about course and unit assignment in Code.org see this article.

Does this keep my students from moving ahead automatically to the next lesson in Code.org?

No - once your students have finished all the levels in the lesson you posted in Google Classroom, they can continue working on the next lesson in Code.org. If you want to keep your students from working beyond the lesson you posted in Google Classroom, you can hide later lessons in the unit or course from your students by using the “Visible / Hidden” buttons next to the lesson (learn more).

Have more questions? Submit a request

Comments

Powered by Zendesk